Seiko Marine Master SBDX001

This watch has a lot to answer for. The first one I bought was flipped, but the moment I sealed the box I knew I had to have another… there’s something about it, and you need to wear it to understand what I mean. This is no ordinary Seiko.

Based on an over thirty year-old design, the Marine Master 300 is like taking a step back in Seiko history. The quality is supreme, starting with the monocoque case, heavy but comfortable.  The movement is a 26 jewelled, 28,800 bph 8L35, an undecorated and unadjusted version of the high-end Grand Seiko 9S55. The dial is a rich and gorgeous matt black, with applied silver indices and Seiko’s magnificent Lumibrite fill on markers and hands.

There are many people who believe that this ultimate dive watch rivals anything in the Rolex stable – save for the price. Personally I don’t think it matters – it is what it is. A perfect watch.

3 thoughts on “Seiko Marine Master SBDX001

  1. I totally agree. I had the chance to try this on during a recently held Seiko GTG. I am amazed by the quality of this watch. It is a bit heavy but to me that’s perfect. The build quality of this watch is nothing I have ever seen on a seiko diver’s watch. I want one.

    Tony, I’m curious why did you have to sell yours?

    • Hmmm… good question, bearing in mind that I’ve now owned four of them and very recently tried to buy a fifth. i think the truth is that I know it’s just a little too large for me – I love the retro look and feel, though, and that’s what keeps me coming back for more.

  2. Pingback: Reunited! « halfpastthehour

Leave a Reply

